Your Elected Officials

The following elected officials represent the people of Mason County in the federal and state governments:


President Donald Trump, Republican

Term expires, Jan. 20, 2021

c/o The White House

1600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW

Washington DC 20500

Fax: 202.456.2461

To Email:



Sen. Debbie Stabenow

U.S. Sen. Debbie Stabenow Democrat

Term expires, Dec. 31, 2024

702 Hart Senate Office Building

Washington DC 20510

Tel: 202.224.4822

Fax: 202.228.0325

To Email:




Sen. Gary Peters

U.S. Sen. Gary Peters Democrat

Term expires, Dec. 31, 2020

SRC-2 Russell, Senate Office Building

Washington DC 20510

Tel: 202.224.6221

Website here.


Congressman Bill Huizenga

U.S. Rep. Bill Huizenga, Michigan 2nd District, Republican – Zeeland

Term expires, Dec. 31, 2020

Lake, Oceana, Newaygo, Muskegon, and Ottawa Counties in their entirety as well as portions of Allegan, Kent, and Mason counties.

2232 Rayburn HOB

Washington DC 20515

Tel: 202.225.4401

Tel: 231.722.8386 (Muskegon Office)

Fax: 202.226.0779

To Email:



Congressman Jack Bergman

U.S. Rep. Jack Bergman, Michigan 1st District, Republican

Term expires, Dec. 31, 2020

Alcona, Alger, Alpena, Antrim, Baraga, Benzie, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Crawford, Delta, Dickinson, Emmet, Gogebic, Grand Traverse, Houghton, Iron, Kalkaska, Keweenaw, Leelanau, Luce, Mackinac, Manistee, Marquette, Mason, Menominee, Montmorency, Ontonagon, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Isle, Schoolcraft counties.

414 Cannon HOB

Washington, DC 20515

Phone: 202.225.4735

Fax: 202.225.4710

To Email:


Gov. Gretchen Whitmer

Gov. Gretchen Whitmer, Democrat

Term expires, Dec. 31, 2022

P.O. Box 30013

Lansing MI 48909

Tel: 517.373.3400

Fax: 517.335.6863


Sen. Curt VanderWall

State Sen. Curt VanderWall, R-Ludington

Term expires, Dec. 31, 2022

35th District: Counties of Mason, Manistee, Lake and other northern Michigan counties.

520 Farnum Building

Lansing, MI 48909

Tel: 517.373.1725

Fax: 517.373.0741

email: [email protected]


Rep. Jack O’Malley

State Rep. Jack O’Malley, Republican – Lake Ann

Term expires, Dec. 31, 2020

101st District: Counties of Benzie, Leelanau, Manistee and Mason.

S-1385 House Office Building
P.O. Box 30014
Lansing, MI 48909

Phone: 517.373.0825
Toll Free: 1.855.DIST.101 (1.855.347.8101)

Email: [email protected]



The Mason County Courthouse.

County of Mason


  • Janet Anderson (District 6)


  • Wally Taranko (District 1)
  • Gary Castonia (District 2)
  • Charles Lange (District 3)
  • Lewis Squires (District 4)
  • Steven Hull (District 5, vice chair)
  • Ron Bacon (District 7)

County Commission meets regularly on the second Tuesday of the month — 9 a.m. odd numbered months; 7 p.m. even numbered months — at the Mason County Courthouse.


  • Cheryl Kelly 


  • Andrew Kmetz IV

51st Circuit Court Judge

  • Susan Sniegowski

79th District Court Judge

  • Peter Wadel

Probate Court Judge

  • Jeffrey Nellis

Prosecuting Attorney

  • Paul Spaniola


  • Kim Cole

Contact information:

  • Mason County Courthouse, 304 E. Ludington Ave., Ludington, MI 49431
  • 231-843-7999


  • Administrator Fabian Knizacky

City of Ludington


  • Steve Miller, term expires Dec. 31, 2022


  • Joe Lenius, 1st Ward, term expires Dec. 31, 2020
  • Kathy Winczewski, 2nd Ward, term expires, Dec. 31, 2022
  • Les Johnson, 3rd Ward, term expires, Dec. 31, 2020
  • Cheri Stibitz-Rozell, 4th Ward, term expires, Dec. 31, 2022
  • Angela Serna, 5th Ward, term expires, Dec. 31, 2022
  • Dave Bourgette, 6th Ward, term expires Dec. 31, 2022

City Council meets regularly on the second and fourth Mondays of each month (except May and December) at 6:30 p.m. at the Ludington Municipal Building.

City Clerk:

  • Deborah Luskin, term expires Dec. 31, 2020

City Treasurer:

  • Tom Ezdebski, appointed to term expiring Dec. 31, 2020.

Contact information:

  • Ludington Municipal Building, 400 S. Harrison St., Ludington, MI 49431
  • 231-845-6237;

Appointed officials:

  • City Manager (interim): Steve Brock
  • Police Chief: Mark Barnett
  • City Attorney: Richard Wilson
  • Fire Chief: Jerry Funk
  • Department of Public Works Director: Joe Stickney

City of Scottville


Bruce Krieger (2nd Ward commissioner), term expires, November 2020


  • Sue Petipren, 1st Ward, term expires November 2020
  • Vacancy, 1st Ward, term expires November 2022
  • Marcy Spencer, 2nd Ward (mayor pro-tem), term expires November 2020
  • Sally Cole, at-large, term expires November 2022
  • Connie Duncil, at-large, term expires November 2020
  • Rob Alway, at-large, term expires November 2022

City Commission meets regularly the first and third Monday of the month at 5:30 p.m., expect during months when those days fall on holidays.

Contact information:

Appointed officials:

  • City Manager: Amy Williams
  • Police Chief: Don Riley
  • Treasurer: Kathy Shafer
  • Clerk: Debbie Howe
  • City Attorney: Tracy Thompson
  • Fire Chief: Dale Larr


Help Fund Local News

Please consider helping us keep local news active by sending a PayPal payment.

Legally Speaking: Consent to search

Subscribe to MCP via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21,267 other subscribers