Friends of Ludington State Park music and adventure programs begin Tuesday

June 11, 2023

Ruth and Max Bloomquist

Friends of Ludington State Park music and adventure programs begin Tuesday

HAMLIN TOWNSHIP — The Friends of Ludington State Park-sponsored 2023 Summer Program Series begins Tuesday, June 13, with music from Michigan folk legends, Ruth and Max Bloomquist.

The series of music, nature and family programming is offered on Tuesday and Saturday evenings at 7 p.m. (except for July 4, program is Wednesday, July 5) at the amphitheater at Ludington State Park. One show, Chloe Kimes and her band, Tuesday, July 18, will be on the beach at the Lake Michigan Beach House.

In case of inclement weather, music and programs take place inside the Lake Michigan beach house.

“We are ready to kick off the 2023 season of Music and Adventure Programs every Tuesday and Saturday evenings at the State Park,” Gary Hearing, FLSP vice president and summer program chair, said. “With music performances from Dixie Jazz, Blues, Folk, Celtic, Old Time, Classic Rock and more.  This year’s programs will include a magician, birds of prey, reptiles and amphibians. Always an enjoyable evening in the amphitheater under the canopy of the forest. We hope to see you there.”

Park interpreter Alan Wernette is instrumental in arranging the series over the years.

“We invite you out to hear a great variety of music and family-friendly programming,” Wernette said.

There is no charge to attend, but donations are accepted during the show to offset costs. Donations can also be made online at https://friendsofludingtonstatepark.org.

“The members of FLSP are excited to provide entertainment and adventure programing at the LSP again this summer”, said Patrick O’Hare, FLSP President. “This free entertainment brings together those camping at the State Park as well as members of the community for fun and memorable events. A huge thank you to our many donors whose generosity makes this series a reality.”

The line-up is as follows:

  • Tuesday, June 13: Ruth & Max Bloomquist, folk
  • Saturday, June 17: Selkie Sounds, Celtic music trio
  • Tuesday, June 20: 80 Cows, acoustic folk, bluegrass
  • Saturday, June 24: Third Coast Swing, jazz classics
  • Tuesday, June 27: Live birds of prey, owls, hawks, more (not music)
  • Saturday, July 1: Olivia Kimes and Jacob Wolfe, folk, bluegrass
  • Wednesday, July 5: Nick Veine, singer-songwriter
  • Saturday, July 8: Shari & Wyatt Knapp, bluesy Americana
  • Tuesday, July 11: Live birds of prey, owls, hawks, more (not music)
  • Saturday, July 15: Canopy Space, alternate folk duo
  • Tuesday, July 18: Chloe Kimes and Band, Nashville Americana (at Lake Michigan Beach House —bring a chair).
  • Saturday, July 22: Plain Jane Glory, neo-folk Americana
  • Tuesday, July 25: The Langford Lads, Irish, old-time folk
  • Saturday, July 29: Michigan reptiles amphibians, Lake Michigan Beach House display from 1 to 5 p.m.; amphitheater program at 7 p.m. 
  • Tuesday, Aug. 1: Steve Berkemeier, folk, country, classic rock
  • Saturday, Aug. 5: Skipski Magic, family fun magic show
  • Tuesday, Aug. 8: Mark Dvorak, folk singer-songwriter
  • Saturday, Aug. 12: Uneven Ground, Irish folk, pub music
  • Tuesday, Aug. 19: Mike Lenich, acoustic folk, rock, originals
  • Saturday, Aug. 26: Salt City Dixie Jazz Band, Dixie jazz
  • Saturday, Sept. 2: Eric Engblade, folk, rock
  • For more information on Friends of Ludington State Park, updates on concerts and other activities, membership information, or to make a donation, visit https://friendsofludingtstatepark.org Event updates also are posted on the Friends of Ludington State Park Facebook page.

Area Churches

Eats & Drinks

Eats & Drinks