Businesses, community activists recognized during chamber dinner.

May 4, 2019

Businesses, community activists recognized during chamber dinner. 

Marie Fay, left, Dave Diephouse.

By Rob Alway, Editor-in-Chief.

HAMLIN TOWNSHIP — The Ludington & Scottville Area Chamber of Commerce held its 2018  dinner Saturday at Lincoln Hills Golf Club. During the dinner, the chamber presented awards to the Small Business of the Year, Business of the Year, and the Community Service Award. It also recognized The Future Five recipients. 

Marie Fay and Yvonne Bess-Jones were the recipients of the Community Service Award. The women were nominated because of their work leading the Friendship Bench Project, which has placed 10 friendship benches at schools throughout Mason County. The project is an anti-bullying movement that encourages children to talk to other kids who are sad, lonely, new to the area, or shy. 

Other Community Service Award nominees included Lee Shipman, Jim and Donna Shoup and Teresa Swist. 

The Business of the Year Award was given to FloraCraft Corporation of Ludington. The company was nominated for its success in business in making its own XPS foam, used in the craft and floral industry, as well as its contributions and support in the community. FloraCraft recently provided its employees with $4 million in bonuses. 

Other nominees included Larsen’s Landscaping of Scottville, Oakview Medical Care Facility of Ludington and Riemer Eye Center of Ludington. 

The Small Business of the Year Award went to The Q Smokehouse and its owner, Dave Diephouse. The Q hires individuals who are trying to get back on their feet. The Q also donates its tips to local non-profit and service organizations. Since the business started three years ago, it has given back $50,000 in tips. 

Other nominees included Cottage Works/Foam Works of Amber Township, Pro-Master Carpet Cleaning of Scottville, and Red Rooster Coffee and Community of Ludington. 

The Future Five recipients included Leta Bowman, Alisha Christensen, Christine Lamb, Lindsey Lindbloom, and Kelly Parker. The award is given to five people between the ages of 21 and 40 who stand above in the community. 

Area Churches