Absentee Ballots for the November 6, 2018 Election

October 3, 2018

Absentee Ballots for the November 6, 2018 Election

Absentee Ballots are available for the General Election to be held on November 6, 2018.  Voters eligible and who desire to receive an absentee ballot should contact their local city or township clerk.  Voters are eligible to obtain an absent voter ballot if any of the following are true for the upcoming November 6, 2018 General Election: If he or she:

  • Is 60 years of age or more
  • Is unable to vote without assistance
  • Expects to be absent from his or her city or township of residence for the entire time the polls are open
  • Is in jail awaiting arraignment or trial
  • Has been appointed to work as an election inspector in a precinct outside his or her precinct of residence
  • Is unable to attend the polls due to his or her religious beliefs

A voter who wishes to receive an absentee ballot must request it in writing from their local city or township clerk. The written request can be a preprinted application form or a letter, but must include one of the statutory reasons listed above stating why the voter is eligible to receive the absentee ballot, and it must include the applicant’s signature. Local clerks have preprinted application forms available that may be requested in person or over the telephone.

A person who registers to vote by mail must vote in person in the first election in which he or she participates. Any person who has not registered to vote by October 9, 2018 is not eligible to vote in this election.

Here is a listing of all the local City and Township Clerks of Mason County.  Many of these clerks work from their homes and have full-time jobs in addition to their elected positions of clerk. Voters may need to leave a phone message or call during the evening when contacting their clerk.

  • City of Ludington- Deborah L. Luskin- 845-6237—full time office days
  • City of Scottville- Debbie Howe- 757-4729—full time office days
  • Amber Township- Brenda Knizacky- 757-2160
  • Branch Township- Kimberly Tenney – 690-6137
  • Custer Township- Ann Larr- 757-3869
  • Eden Township- Julie VanDyke – 233-6867
  • Free Soil Township- Lynda Papes- 464-5825
  • Grant Township- Mary Jo Janowiak- 464-5473
  • Hamlin Township- Cathy Lewis- 845-0092
  • Logan Township- John Kampfschulte- 898-3968
  • Meade Township- Sue Hasenbank- 464-5813
  • Pere Marquette Charter Township- Rachelle Enbody-845-1279—full time office days
  • Riverton Township- Cindy Gerbers-757-2113
  • Sheridan Township- Marlynn Gulembo-462-3565
  • Sherman Township- Kurt Lubben-462-3205
  • Summit Township- Mary Samuels-690-7167
  • Victory Township- Barb Egeler- 843-3607


Subscribe to MCP via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22,235 other subscribers