Mason County Sports Hall of Fame names 2018 inductees.

November 24, 2017

Mason County Sports Hall of Fame names 2018 inductees.

To induct Ingraham, Schafer, Tyndall, LHS 2001 boys soccer, 2001 MCE softball.
LUDINGTON — The Mason County Sports Hall of Fame has announced its 14th induction class, the Class of 2018.
The Hall of Fame will induct Duane Ingraham Sr., Wally Schafer, Gale Tyndall, the state champion 2001 Ludington High School boys soccer team, and the 2001 state champion Mason County Eastern softballl team.

“2018 marks the 14 anniversary of the Mason County Sports Hall of Fame, an organization that was established to recognize, honor and enshrine the “best of the best” of Mason County’s wonderful sports history and to never forget those individuals and teams that have brought so much joy and excitement to their schools, their communities, families and themselves,” Mason County Sports Hall of Fame President Vic Buwell said. “The MCSHF twenty-two member board of directors is proud to continue this tradition of preserving our sport’s legacy by selecting this year’s class of inductees. Another remarkable group of individuals and teams.”
Ingraham was a long-time basketball coach of Mason County Central. He had a pair of coaching stints, once in the 1960s and the other time in the 1980s. He coached the Spartans to the Class C final four where MCC lost in overtime to L’Anse in 1966. His teams won four district and one regional championships to go with four West Michigan Conference titles. He also served for a time as the school’s athletic director. He compiled a 143-81 record while coach of the Spartans for 10 seasons for a .638 win percentage. Before leading the Spartans, Ingraham was a 1953 graduate of Lakeview High School, and he went on to Central Michigan University where he earned four letters in baseball and three in basketball. He taught at Scottville High School/MCC from 1957 until 1993.
Schafer is a 1957 graduate of Ludington High School. He was the 1956 state champion in the mile run with a time of 4:37.4. He was the state runner-up the following year despite losing a shoe on the first lap. He earned four varsity letters and was the Orioles’ track captain his senior year. He went on to the University of Michigan on a track scholarship, and he also ran four years on the cross country team. He twice medaled in the Big Ten championships and was three times on a Big Ten title team. He also was a part of three winning relays at the Penn Relays. Schafer continued to compete into his 70s, from 800-meter races to marathons to road biking. He also was the founding president of the Ann Arbor Track Club and the co-founder of the Chico Running Club.
Tyndall is a 1955 graduate of Custer High School, and he made his mark in baseball. He signed a contract with the Detroit Tigers and played in the club’s minor league system at stops with the Jamestown Falcons and Panama City Fliers. Tyndall could pitch with both hands, and he used it to help Custer to several victories. He only lost twice. He earned three letters in track and basketball, each, and was an honorable mention All-State selection in 1955. He went on to have a standout fastpitch career, and he was inducted into the Mason County Softball Hall of Fame in 1995.
The 2001 Ludington High School boys soccer team went 24-1-2 as it won a MHSAA Division 3 state championship. The team won its league title as well as district and regional titles. It had two first team All-State players, six all-regional players, seven all-district players, three first team all-conference players and three first team all-area players. The Orioles were coached by Fred Horstman and assisted by Chad Horstman, Tim Bryant and Brad Reed. Members of the team were Joel Budreau, Landon McIntosh, Steve Massie, Zach Webster, Steve Castonia, Chris St. John, Rodrigo Maina, Kyle Sanders, Brian Damkoehler, Nick Albrecht, Brendan Keen, Michael Coon, Eric Carlson, Mark White, Joseph Urka, Lee Debink, Bugi Schaffitzel, Paul Barnett, Chuck Spaniola, Kole Chavalia, Ryan Zwiefka, Paul Hector, Tom North and Blake Moore. Managers were John Lister and Danielle Gesswein.
The 2001 Mason County Eastern softball team finished as the MHSAA Division 4 state champion. The Cardinals went 38-2 as they won the state championship against Traverse City St. Francis with a district and regional title. MCE also won the Western Michigan D League. Members of the 2001 Cardinals included Laura Herrera, Denise Purple, Sara Marek, Emily Heath, Bernadette Battre, Jeanne Cole, Kim Marek, Amanda Purple, Jamie Hansen, Audrey Olson, Kayla VanSickle, Natahsa Mracna, Amanda Saya, Anne Young and Angela Boersen. The Cardinals were coached by Bill Cole and assisted by Kristy Stark.
The Mason County Sports Hall of Fame, located in Ludington, Mich., is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation, honoring and education of others in the outstanding historical contributions in sports and athletics in Mason County. The Hall of Fame is currently housed at Historic White Pine Village at the Max K. Rahn Building. Plans continue to be developed for the expansion of the Mason County Sports Hall of Fame. The 2018 induction ceremony will be on June 30, 2018 with an enshrinement ceremony at Historic White Pine Village and a banquet in the evening at Lincoln Hills Golf Club.

Area Churches

Subscribe to MCP via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22,179 other subscribers