College to recognize individuals, businesses and foundations.

March 7, 2017

College to recognize individuals, businesses and foundations.

VICTORY TOWNSHIP – The 50th anniversary of the founding of West Shore Community College will be celebrated at the college’s Founders Day Dinner to be held the evening of March 10, in the Administrative and Conference Center.

The dinner is held in early March to commemorate March 6, 1967, the day WSCC was established by of vote of the people. In 1987, the College celebrated its 20th anniversary with the first Founders Day Dinner.  That evening, the Mentors Society was born with the recognition of 11 people for their leadership in the founding and development of the college.

Since 1987, West Shore has held the dinner every five years, during which time 32 more names were added to the Mentors Society. This year, eight more distinguished individuals will be added to the list.

  • Sharon Bluhm: professor emerita; Instrumental in the establishment of the Manierre Dawson Gallery;
  • Senator Darwin Booher: instrumental in securing state funding for the college;
  • Ruth Gustafson: executive assistant for two former presidents;
  • Chrissie Hall: philanthropist and community volunteer, instrumental in providing financial resources and moving the college forward ;
  • David Hall: philanthropist, educator, writer and instrumental in providing financial resources and moving the college forward;
  • James Pinkerton: an advocate for vocational programs in area schools; helped implement the Career and Technical Education partnership on the college campus;
  • Jack Rasmussen: philanthropist and business leader; established WSCC scholarship funding; and
  • Shirley Rasmussen: philanthropist; established WSCC scholarship funding.

Those who have been inducted into the Mentors Society are Dr. William Anderson, Roger Baerwolf, Leonard Bestrom, Barry Bourdo, Richard Bourgault, Larry Bradford, Robert Bradley, John R. Bulger, Arnold Carlson, Dennis Cawthorne, Donald Clingan, Oliver DeJonge, Bruce Draper, Dr. John Eaton, Ellen Elder, Leonard Gavigan, Maurice Goodreau, Dorothy Hall, Morgan Hall, Jack Ham, Dr. Robert Harrison, Dr. Charles Keil, Fred Killen, Dr. Kang Lee, Bayard Lyon, Beth McCarthy, Helen McCarthy, Martha Paine, William Paine, A. Ivan Pelter, Daryl Peterson, E. Dean Raven, Budde Reed, Sadie Riffle, Joan Schoenherr, Lee Schoenherr, Richard Seemuth, Kenneth Stephens, Ruth Stephens, Dr. Dale Sutton, Leo Teholiz, Tom VanBuren, and Ron Wood.

As part of the 50th anniversary, the college has created a new award called the Cornerstone Society. While the Mentors Society honors individuals, the Cornerstone Society honors businesses, organizations, and foundations that have provided financial resources to move the college forward.  The first-ever Cornerstone inductees are:

  • Paine Family Foundation – William and Martha Paine and Family;
  • Delta Foundation – Anonymous;
  • West Shore Bank – Raymond Biggs.

“The college bestows these honors every five years and it takes on added significance during our 50th anniversary when we remember all of the previous inductees and the important contribution they made in their time,” said WSCC President Kenneth Urban. “Each of our inductees have demonstrated the kind of commitment that has helped move the college a step closer to fulfilling its promise to our students and community.”

“For 50 years, we have combined our efforts to make a real and lasting impact so that each student and community member has the opportunity to fulfill his or her potential,” Urban added.

Eats & Drinks

Eats & Drinks

Area Churches