President of West Shore Medical Center appointed to college board.

November 17, 2015
James Barker

James Barker

VICTORY TOWNSHIP — James Barker has been appointed to fill the vacancy on West Shore Community College’s Board of Trustees replacing retiring board member Phyllis Cowden.

Last month, Cowden announced her intent to resign on December 1, due to a change in residency for a portion of the year.

Barker was among three candidates who submitted a letter of interest and resume to be considered for the open board seat.

The Board Executive Committee brought the recommendation to the entire board after conducting interviews of 45 minutes with each candidate. Thereafter, the committee discussed the nominee’s qualifications each brought to the board.

James Barker received an associate of nursing degree from WSCC in 1993, and is currently the president of West Shore Medical Center in Manistee.  He has served as vice president of Patient Care Services at Salina Regional Health Center in Salina, Kansas.  Prior to that role he led the University Health Services program at Central Michigan University.  He began his nursing career at Paul Oliver Memorial Hospital in Frankfort, Michigan.

Barker is the first alumnus to serve on the board of trustees and has personal and family ties to the area.  He has served on the college’s Foundation board since May 2014.

Barker will be sworn in at the next board meeting on December 21, and will serve until the next election for trustee seats, which will be November 8, 2016.

The other two candidates included:

  • Fred Niles: Niles, of Manistee, retired from the visual arts department at the University of Dayton in Dayton, Ohio. During his 28 years at the university he served as a professor and was also department chair for eight years.
  • Kaley Petersen: Petersen, of Ludington, is the executive director for foundation and volunteer services at Spectrum Health Ludington Hospital. She is an occupational therapist and also serves as the executive director of the Miss Ludington Area Scholarship Program.