Nominations being accepted for Gov. John B. Swainson Award

April 4, 2014

LANSING — The Michigan Historical Commission today announced it is accepting nominations for the Governor John B. Swainson Award.

The prestigious Swainson Award is given annually by the Michigan Historical Commission to state, county or municipal employees who have gone above and beyond their official job duties to help preserve Michigan’s history. To recognize these contributions, in 1996 the Michigan Historical Commission instituted the Governor John B. Swainson Award in honor of the legislator, governor and judge whose commitment to history continues to inspire.
“Our historic resources are among Michigan’s greatest treasures, and the Swainson Award helps us pay tribute to those who serve as stewards of our state’s rich heritage,” said Jack Dempsey, Michigan Historical Commission president.

Presentation of a plaque and certificate will be made during a special ceremony in the summer of 2014. Nomination forms and complete rules can be found online at

The deadline to submit nominations is May 2, 2014.

The Michigan Historical Commission advises the Department of Natural Resources on the work of the Michigan Historical Center. The commission is dedicated to enriching quality of life and strengthening the economy by providing access to information and preserving and promoting Michigan’s heritage. The Michigan Historical Center is the principal state agency that builds programs and alliances that preserve and interpret Michigan’s past and help people discover, enjoy and find inspiration in their heritage.

The Michigan Department of Natural Resources is committed to the conservation, protection, management, use and enjoyment of the state’s natural and cultural resources for current and future generations. For more information, go to


Eats & Drinks

Eats & Drinks