Optimist chess tournament results

March 3, 2014
High school winners

High school winners

LUDINGTON — The 59th Annual Ludington Optimist Youth Chess Tournament was held at Ludington High School on Saturday, March 1, 2014.  This is the longest-running scholastic tournament in Michigan.  Sixty students from throughout Michigan played

Middle school winners

Middle school winners

five chess games to determine the winners in four divisions.  Mario Arnson, a senior from Muskegon, came through undefeated and won first place in the High School Division.  Mario won first place three years ago as a freshman, and this was his fourth year in a row of placing in that division.  Josh Meisenheimer was the only Ludington-area student to place in the tournament.  Josh is a sixth grader at O.J. DeJonge Middle School, and took third place in the Middle School Division.


The winners in the four divisions were:

High School Division (grades 9-12):

1st: Mario Arnson, 18, Muskegon

2nd: Adam DeHollander, 15, Bryron Center

3rd: David Meyer, 15, Traverse City

4th: William Chown, 16, Traverse City


Upper elementary winners

Upper elementary winners

Middle School Division (grades 6-8):

1st: Joshua Posthuma, 13, Zeeland

2nd: Joshua Vander Meulen, 15, Spring Lake

3rd: Josh Meisenheimer, 11, Ludington

4th: Noah DeHollander, 13, Byron Center


Upper Elementary Division (grades 4-5):

1st: Levi DeHollander, 10, Byron Center

2nd: Callen Carrier, 11, Spring Lake

3rd: Leonard Chown, 10, Traverse City

4th: Brett Carrier, 9, Spring Lake


Lower elementary winners

Lower elementary winners

Lower Elementary Division (grades K-3)

1st: Charlie Reese, 7, Zeeland

2nd: Eli Sevensma, 6, Muskegon

3rd: Ian Zuber, 9, Holland

4th: Mia Milner, 7, Hesperia


The 2014 Optimist Youth Chess Tournament was sponsored by the Ludington Optimists.  It was organized by Tracy Thompson, assisted by Tom Walsh, Greg Bailey, Pete Meyer, Andy Catlin, Doug Kelly, and Bob DelBarker.  The Ludington Optimists wish to thank Ludington High School for the use of the cafeteria, and Greg Bailey and the Carrom Company for the donation of chess boards for the raffle.