Clown Band Patriotic Concert cancelled.

June 4, 2020

Clown Band Patriotic Concert cancelled.

SCOTTVILLE — The Scottville Clown Band announced today that it is cancelling its annual Patriotic Concert, which was scheduled for Tuesday, June 30 at the Scottville Clown Band Shell. In a statement from the band’s board of directors, the decision was made due to the large crowd that the band draws and also the close quarters of the band shell.

“The Scottville Clown Band is made up musicians of a variety of ages,” the statement read. “But, many of those musicians are within the age group considered high risk of catching COVID-19. Social distancing on the band shell stage is not an option. In addition, the annual concert draws an audience of several hundred people.”

The band is scheduled to perform again at the shell on Tuesday, Aug. 18. As of now, that is the only concert scheduled for the band shell this summer. The Tuesday night free music series had been cancelled last month mostly due to the inability to fund raise for the season.

At this time, the following is the 2020 schedule of the band (for a list of cancelled shows, visit www.scottvilleclownband.com):

  • Irons RV Park and Campground show (private event), Saturday, June 27 at 3 p.m.
  • Ludington Area Jaycees Freedom Festival parade, Saturday, July 4 at 2 p.m. (decision will be made at Ludington City Council meeting, Monday, June 8).
  • Baldwin Troutarama Beer Tent Show, Thursday, July 23 at 8 p.m.
  • Baldwin Troutarama parade and beer tent show, Saturday, July 25 at 1 p.m.
  • Grand Haven American Legion show, Tuesday, July 28 at 7 p.m.
  • Onekama Days parade, Saturday, Aug. 9 at 1 p.m.
  • Pentwater Homecoming Les Bailey Memorial Concert, Thursday, Aug. 13 at 7:30 p.m.
  • Reed City Great American Crossroads Celebration parade, Friday, Aug. 14 at 6:30 p.m.
  • Pentwater Homecoming parade, Saturday, Aug. 15 at 4 p.m.
  • Scottville Clown Band Shell concert, Tuesday, Aug. 18 at 7 p.m.
  • Michigan Association of County Clerks Conference (private event), Tuesday, Aug. 25 in Ludington.
  • Hudsonville Fair, Wednesday, Aug. 26 at 7 p.m.
  • Hart Commons Summer Concert Series, Thursday, Aug. 27 at 7 p.m.
  • Cedar Polka Fest, Saturday, Sept. 19 at 1 p.m.
  • Sons & Daughters Hall shows (Pulaski Days), Grand Rapids, Friday, Oct. 2 at 7:30 p.m. and Saturday, Oct. 3 at 1 p.m.
  • Frankfort Fall Festival parade and show, Saturday, Oct. 10 at 11 a.m.

Please consider helping to fund local news. Mason County Press and Oceana CountY Press are available for free thanks to the generous support of our advertisers and individuals who support our service. CLICK HERE TO DONATE.

This story is copyrighted © 2020, all rights reserved by Media Group 31, LLC, PO Box 21, Scottville, MI 49454. No portion of this story or images may be reproduced in any way, including print or broadcast, without expressed written consent.

Help Fund Local News

Please consider helping us keep local news active by sending a PayPal payment.

Area Churches

Subscribe to MCP via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21,562 other subscribers