WSCC inducts new honors society members

April 17, 2024

WSCC News is presented by West Shore Community College in partnership with Mason County Press.

VICTORY TOWNSHIP — West Shore Community College’s Alpha Phi Phi Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honors Society welcomed new members during its annual induction ceremony, on April 4, in the college’s Administrative & Conference Building.

Scott Ward, WSCC president and the keynote speaker during the ceremony, stated, “Leadership, much like the spring rains, has the power to invigorate and revitalize our communities. It empowers you to lead by example, to inspire others, and to effect positive change in the world around us. As PTK members, you are called to be leaders who guide with integrity, compassion, and vision.”

Chapter advisor, Dr. Wendy Wells, thanked President Ward for paying the one-time registration fee to join PTK for all initiates for the fourth year in a row. President Ward started this tradition in 2021 because he didn’t want the fee to be a barrier that kept students from joining the organization.

The 77 inductees included: Emily Adams, Morgen Ahlfeld, Makenna Anible, Elizabeth Ansuini, Angeleah Arnold, Abigail Ashley, Grace Ashley, Charles Austin, Jacob Austin, Paige Barbrick, Joshua Berg, Sydney Bialik, Nathan Biggs, Holly Bowen, Brenden Brady, Christopher Brien, McKenzie Crowder, Evan Dalke, Genesis Davis, Dylan Eaton, Abby Fay, Jaimey Ferguson, Aidan Forrester, Gracyn Ginn, Mary Gregorski, Chase Groh, Rebecca Hanna, Kaitlin Harker, Grace Higley, Abigail Hughes, Shannon Huizenga, Asher Johnson, Bobby Johnson, Isaac Johnson, Joseph Johnston, Dennis Kenny, Allison Kettler, Sarah King, Dylan Laczko, Amber Landers, Melody Leone, William Luce, Jazlyn Madsen, Andrew McGaffigan, Ashley McPike, Nadia Mosqueda, Andrew Mueller, Lauren Niedzielski, Luke Niedzielski, Riley Priemer, Ashley Ramirez, Julie Richards, Anna Roberson, Shayna Schwartz, Christina Seymour, Ann Short, Claire Shoup, Ella Smith, Tanner Soelberg, Lillian Stauffer, Amelia Stewart, Samantha Stilson, Shelby Stimes, Kelsey Sullivan, Emma Teske, Audrey Timinskis, April Tomlinson, Avery Vaas, Brandon VanderZanden, Anna VanDuinen, Andrew Vaquera, Maygan Vasquez, Zoe Voss, Baden Webster, Levi Webster, Alaina White, Chelsea Wolbers.
PTK recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students and provides an opportunity for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, fellowship among scholars, and continuing academic excellence.

Members are eligible to receive some of more than $37 million in scholarships provided exclusively for PTK members. Members in the United States are also eligible to participate in the All-USA Academic Team program, co-sponsored by USA Today, and by extension their own state-wide academic teams. Members also receive automatic nominations to the National Dean’s List and job postings exclusively for Phi Theta Kappans.

            More than two million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 100,000 students inducted annually.

            WSCC launched a PTK chapter in 1992, and through chapter and individual projects, members continue to serve the college and community.


Receive daily MCP and OCP news briefings along with email news alerts for $10 a month.

The easiest way is to sign up for an automatic monthly payment on Paypal. Click this link.

Alternative methods:

  • We can send you an invoice each month, which you can conveniently pay online or by check. If you are interested in this method, please email and we can sign you up. You can also mail a yearly check for $120 to Media Group 31, PO Box 21, Scottville, MI 49454 (please include your email address).
  • We also accept Venmo payments.

We appreciate all our readers regardless of whether they choose to continue to access our service for free or with a monthly financial support.

If you would like to support MCP/OCP but do not wish to receive daily emails, please consider sending a contribution to any of the above methods or pay by Venmo (@masoncountypress).  We appreciate all our readers regardless of whether they choose to continue to access our service for free or with a monthly financial support.


This story and original photography are copyrighted © 2024, all rights reserved by Media Group 31, LLC, PO Box 21, Scottville, MI 49454. No portion of this story or images may be reproduced in any way, including print or broadcast, without expressed written consent.

As the services of Media Group 31, LLC are news services, the information posted within the sites are archivable for public record and historical posterity. For this reason it is the policy and practice of this company to not delete postings. It is the editor’s discretion to update or edit a story when/if new information becomes available. This may be done by editing the posted story or posting a new “follow-up” story. Media Group 31, LLC or any of its agents have the right to make any changes to this policy. Refer to Use Policy for more information.

Please consider helping to fund local news. Mason County Press and Oceana County Press are available for free thanks to the generous support of our advertisers and individuals. Three ways to help us: Venmo: @MasonCountyPress; Paypal:; Mail a check to PO BOX 21, Scottville, MI 49454.

Eats & Drinks

Eats & Drinks