Primary election results. 

August 3, 2022

Primary election results. 

The following are the unofficial results of votes cast in Mason County from Tuesday’s primary election: 

Of 25,140 voters, 6,914 people voted, 27.5% of registered voting: 4,876 voted Republican; 1,913 voted Democrat. 



Gretchen Whitmer, 1,901

Representative in Congress

Jerry Hillard, 1,827

State Senator

Terry Sabo, 1,824

Representative in State Legislature, 101st District

Amanda Siggins, 203

Representative in State Legislature, 102nd District

Brian Hosticka, 1,626

County Commissioner, First District

Nick Krieger, 366

County Commissioner, Fourth District

Rita Copenhaver, 278

County Commissioner, Seventh District

Ed Miller, 235



Tudor M. Dixon, 1,911

Ryan D. Kelley, 810

Ralph Rebant, 256

Kevin Rinke, 1,004

Garrett Soldano, 729

Representative in Congress

John Moolenaar, 2,802

Thomas Norton, 1,818

State Senator

Jon C. Bumstead, 3,381

Charles Ritchard, 1,172

Representative in State Legislature, 101st District

Joseph D. Fox, 172

Chad Pierce, 51

Diane J. Schindlbeck, 106

Kelly J. Smith, 171

Representative in State Legislature, 102nd District

Ryan E. Roberts, 341

Andrew Sebolt, 1,037

Curt VanderWall, 2,911

County Commissioner, Second District

Gary E. Castonia, 312

Michelle Kuster, 213

County Commissioner, Third District

Jody Hartley, 637

County Commissioner, Fourth District

Lewis G. Squires, 642

County Commissioner, Fifth District

Steven K. Hull, 597

County Commissioner, Sixth District

Janet S. Andersen, 666

County Commissioner, Seventh District

Ron Bacon, 666

Custer Township Clerk

Staci K. Wood, 245

Sherman Township Treasurer

Kristina Randle, 173

Riverton Township Trustee

Todd M. VanNortwick, 188

Pere Marquette Charter Township Transportation 

Yes, 473

No, 164

Meade Township Millage Renewal

Yes, 41

No, 21

Manistee Area Public School District Operating Millage Proposal

Yes, 40

No, 32

Mason County Eastern Sinking Fund

Yes, 696

No, 395

Please consider helping to fund local news. Mason County Press and Oceana County Press are available for free thanks to the generous support of our advertisers and individuals. Three ways to help us: Venmo: @MasonCountyPress; Paypal:; Mail a check to PO BOX 21, Scottville, MI 49454. 

This story is copyrighted © 2022, all rights reserved by Media Group 31, LLC, PO Box 21, Scottville, MI 49454. No portion of this story or images may be reproduced in any way, including print or broadcast, without expressed written consent.

As the services of Media Group 31, LLC are news services, the information posted within the sites are archivable for public record and historical posterity. For this reason it is the policy and practice of this company to not delete postings. It is the editor’s discretion to update or edit a story when/if new information becomes available. This may be done by editing the posted story or posting a new “follow-up” story. Media Group 31, LLC or any of its agents have the right to make any changes to this policy. Refer to Use Policy for more information.

Area Churches