Mason County bus tech, driver receive top state awards.

June 28, 2019

From left: Deb Wilsey, Rich Page, Bob McClure, Katrina Morris

Mason County bus tech, driver receive top state awards.

Two Mason County school transportation technicians were recently recognized by the Michigan Association for Pupil Transportation. Rich Page of Ludington Area School District was named Technician of the Year and Bob McClure of West Shore Educational Service District was named Driver of the Year during the 54th annual MAPT conference held at Shanty Creek Resorts June 24-27. Nominations came from across the state from transportation supervisors.

Page was nominated by LASD Transportation Supervisor Deborah Wilsey. In her nomination letter Wilsey stated that Page has “been a valuable asset for the past 18 years to Ludington Area Schools as well as West Shore ESD, Mason County Eastern, Baldwin Public and Pentwater Public schools, and the Mason County Sheriff’s mobile command vehicle. Additionally, he assists with repairs as needed, for Hart and Shelby public schools and performs warranty work for Mason County Central Schools.

“As a dedicated bus mechanic for the past 25 years he has leveraged his experience to successfully manage a combined fleet of 52 busses and four additional vehicles…”

McClure was equally praised by his supervisor, Katrina Morris of the ESD. “Over the last 25 years of being a school bus driver at the West Shore ESD.

“Bob has always had the attitude of, ‘whatever it takes,’ Morris said. “He is always willing to help wherever needed, even if it is at the last minute.”

“In all the years that I have been a part of MAPT, we have not had a winner from Mason County until now,” Morris said. “These two are the best of the best and they are very deserving of these awards.”


Subscribe to MCP via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this site and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22,235 other subscribers